Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore (2012)

Bitterblue is a character introduced in Cashore’s debut YA novel, Graceling. She is a young girl then, saved by Katsa, a graceling with the ability to survive. Bitterblue’s mother was murdered by her father, Leck, the king of Monsea. Blitterblue takes place eight years after Graceling. Bitterblue is now a queen attempting to heal her people.

So this was one of those books I was eagerly anticipating and I believe my experience suffered because of it. Over-hyped it to myself. It is more juvenile in content than Cashore’s earlier books because Bitterblue is a such a young, niave character who embarks on rather predictable paths. The romance here is also young and not very engrossing. Nothing like the sparks between Katsa and Po or Fire and Brigand. And so much of the narrative suffers because the main characters are unreliable. Leck has tampered with their memories. They are so damaged! It’s too long by half as well.

The saving grace is Death (pronounced Deeth), the Librarain. Love Death. And I enjoyed seeing the folks from the Dells. It was like an epilogue to Fire.

One thought on “Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore (2012)

  1. I find it difficult to leave my expectations at the opening of a book I have been waiting for, especially if it is part of a series. I’m still waiting for this one to come in on my library hold.

Leave a Reply

