Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Marillier (2000)

When was the beginning? When my father met my mother, and lost his heart, and chose to we for love? Or was it when I was born? I shoud have been the seventh son of a seventh son, but the goddess was playing tricks, and I was a girl. After she gave birth to me, my mother dies (p 4).

How can I begin to express how much I adored this book? Beautifully woven, full of trials and tribulation with an undercurrent of mystical forest magic, a great plot and a strong heroine. It’s an older title, like The Thief, that a coworker turned me on to and I’m so so so grateful. For those who enjoy fairy tale retellings like Beauty by Robin McKinley or adult novels like The Mists of Avalon, go pick this up! Can’t wait to sink my teeth into the sequel.

Leave a Reply

