Mock Newbery 2011: Round Up #1

We have passed the half-way mark and the Librarians in Ocean County are just starting to gear up for our mock Newbery discussion. Here are the titles we are considering, for now:

  • Plain Kate by Erin Bow (ages 12 and up): a dark and glorious fairy tale with roots in Russian folk tales. Read my review.
  • Out of My Mind by Sharon Draper (ages 9-12): the touching and poignant story of Melody, a brilliant girl with cerebal palsy. Read my review.
  • One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia (ages 9 -14): three black girls, one independent mother, the Black Panthers and and a racially charged 1968. Read my review.
  • Countdown by Deborah Wiles (ages 12 and up): a documentary novel set in the early 60′s with a unique format. I’m reading it now. Read my review.
  • Keeper by Kathy Appelt (ages 9-12): “Told in deceptively simple language and in non-linear fashion, this novel touches on some heavy issues for children’s literature: abandonment, homosexuality, aging, death, and a veteran traumatized by war. Overall, though, there is an uplifting message of love and hope and the realization that family isn’t necessarily connected by blood.” ~Danielle (my coworker)

More mock lists at: Fuse #8, SJCPL, ACPL

2 thoughts on “Mock Newbery 2011: Round Up #1

  1. Ok, I’ve got to catch up! I did love Plain Kate and One Crazy Summer. After rereading Hunger Games and Catching Fire I”ll take a look at the rest of these titles. I would also suggest we take a look at Touch Blue.
    What about the mock Caldecott? Any discussion of that yet?

  2. We are going to start our Caldecott discussion: The Boys by Jeff Newman – My Garden by Kevin Henkes – Moon Bear by Brenda Guiberson – Chalk by Bill Thompson – Sit-in: How Four Friends Stood Up By Sitting Down by Andrea Davis Pinkney. Do you have any favorites?

Leave a Reply

