Out of My Mind by Sharon M. Draper (2010)

When I think about it, I realize I have never, ever said any words directly to my parents. So I push a couple buttons, and the machine speaks the words I’ve never been able to say.
“I love you” (p 138).

Melody is almost twelve-years-old but she’s never walked, spoken, or fed herself and yet she is brilliant. With the support of two loving parents, instruction from a no-nonesense neighbor, aphotographic memory and a lot of spunk, Melody begins to overcome her physical limitations.

It was so easy to slip into Melody’s life through Draper’s elegant prose, to feel her frustration and desire. I was alternately angery, joyful, ashamed and eager with Melody.

Fuse #8 taped this book early on as Newbery bait and I have no doubt it will appear on mock lists.

Read alikes: Stuck in Neutral, Cruise Control and Inside Out by Terry Truman, So B. It by Sarah Weeks

Leave a Reply

